Stu Tyrrell: Releases Celtic Roots EP

Releases Debut EP Celtic Roots
Featuring Iron Maiden cover, Traditional Folk Songs & Original Material

Sydney singer-songwriter Stu Tyrrell recently launched his debut EP Celtic Roots in Australia’s Celtic capital, Glen Innes during Celtic Weekend, May 5 & 6.

Breathing new life into traditional English and Celtic Folk songs, Stu re-imagines them into stomping, roots infused arrangements that are then interwoven with acoustic heavy metal to deliver something completely original.

Stu’s original material speaks of social justice and solidarity while touching on his personal experiences of love, loss, depression and triumph.

A veteran of the stage, notably as touring bassist for ex Iron Maiden frontmen Paul Dianno and Blaze Bayley on their Australian tours, 

Stu currently performs as a solo artist at folk clubs and on the Sydney songwriters circuit in his signature stripped-down style.

A regular on the festival stage, Stu has played the Australian Celtic Festival, Beechworth Celtic Festival, Granny Smith Festival, and Northern Beaches Music Festival. 

He also won the 2016/17 Gulgong Folk Festival Guitar Competition.

Recording Celtic Roots began in March 2016 at Sydney’s Damien Gerard Studios. The EP features one original song with full instrumentation and four traditional Celtic and English Folk arrangements stripped down to Stu’s signature roots-infused sound. Celtic Roots begins with an acoustic version of the Iron Maiden classicNumber Of The Beast a track that fuses together Stu's Celtic and Heavy Metal influences perfectly. 

The EP’s final track, The Saint of Kings Cross is about legendary Kings Cross Bikers Social and Welfare Club founder and cultural icon Randall “Animal” Nelson OAM. 

The track will be released on April 25 as a digital single preceding the EP.

Celtic Roots features Steph Miller, ex Roaring Jack on accordion, mandola and zither, Mark Oats from Bushwhackers/Finn MacCool on fiddle, and Gordon Rytmeister, ex everything! on drums. 

Irish Joe Lynch is also featured on the EP narrating an excerpt from Robbie Burns in his iconic style.

Celtic Roots Tracklisting
1. The Number Of The Beast (Harris)
2. The Blacksmith (trad. English Roud 816)
3. Scarborough Fair (trad. English/Scottish Child 2/Roud 12)
4. Ny Kirree Fo Niaghtey (trad. Manx)
5. She Moved Through The Fair (trad. Irish)
6. The Saint Of Kings Cross (Tyrrell).

Listen to a sampler of the EP here  

Celtic Roots is out now!

It's about the Artist, Always….                                                                                                   : +614 1371 5396 : PO Box 274 Wentworth Falls NSW 2782 Australia